Editors' Code of Practice Committee

Minutes of the Editors' Code of Practice Committee meeting held at the Press Association offices at 292 Vauxhall Bridge Road, London on 27 February 2014, and resumed 15 May.

Present:

Chairman: Paul Dacre (NPA)

Jonathan Grun (NPA) Lisa Burrow (PPA) John Witherow (NPA) Ian Murray (NS) Harriet Wilson (PPA)

<u>Attending:</u> Peter Wright (industry steering group); Ian Beales (Secretary).

<u>Apologies</u> were received from Damian Bates, Neil Benson, Geordie Greig, Mike Sassi and Hannah Walker.

Minutes of the meeting on 5 December 2012 were approved and signed.

<u>Matters arising:</u> There were no matters arising, other than specific issues relating to post-Leveson developments.

Regulatory update: The Chairman gave a brief update on the establishment of the Press Standards Organisation, and the need for a new Code Committee constitution to reflect the increase in its lay membership. Mr Wright, representing the industry regulatory development team, was present to answer questions on the IPSO framework in general and its ramifications for the Code Committee in particular. It was agreed, in principle, that it would be helpful in future for expert advisors to attend meetings as necessary, where specialist guidance was needed on specific issues.

<u>Constitution</u>: A draft constitution, drawn up with the help of lawyers, and setting out the Code Committee's role, membership and procedural issues, was considered.

This envisaged ten editorial members instead of the current 13 and three more lay members. It would mean three of the industry bodies – NPA, NS and PPA – would lose one member each. The Scottish Newspaper Society membership would stay unchanged. The Chairman said industry membership quotas should be kept under review.

After some discussion, the committee agreed to the constitution, with one amendment.

<u>Code Review:</u> The secretary reported broadly on responses to the Code Review and procedural options for handling it within the new self-regulatory context. It was agreed to postpone substantive discussion until the re-constitution process was complete.

The meeting reconvened on May 15 when previously absent members, Damian Bates, Neil Benson, Geordie Greig, Mike Sassi and Hannah Walker attended. John Witherow sent an apology for absence. Lisa Burrow's resignation from the committee was noted. The Secretary reported that the Regulatory Funding Company had ratified the constitutional change proposed at the earlier session. Members continued to consider broad issues raised by the Code Review, but it was again agreed to defer further deliberation until the committee's re-constitutional process was complete.