THE PRESS STANDARDS BOARD OF FINANCE LIMITED

Editors' Code of Practice Committee

PRESS INFORMATION

Paul Dacre to head Code Committee

For release: 8.00 am, Tuesday, 4 March, 2008

PAUL Dacre, Editor of the Daily Mail and Editor-in-chief of Associated Newspapers, is to be the new chairman of the Editors' Code of Practice Committee.

The Committee, which reviews and revises the voluntary code of standards overseen by the Press Complaints Commission, invited Mr Dacre to replace Les Hinton, who had been chairman since January 1999.

Mr Hinton, former Executive Chairman of News International, resigned after being appointed chief executive of Dow Jones in New York.

Mr Dacre said: "I am honoured to be asked to become Chairman of the Code of Practice Committee. I am a passionate supporter of the principle of self-regulation, Press Freedom and a Code which reflects both the concerns of newspapers and needs of the public which it serves."

Code Committee Secretary Ian Beales said: "The chairman's role requires an eminent figure respected by the whole press industry – national, regional and magazines - and by Government and civil society. Paul Dacre was the unanimous choice. The Committee is delighted that he has agreed to take it on."

Mr Dacre will be formally installed at the Code Committee's meeting in April. He will now step down as a member of the Press Complaints Commission.

The Editors' Code Committee comprises: Neil Benson, Trinity Mirror's regional newspapers; Adrian Faber, Express and Star, Wolverhampton; Mike Gilson, The Scotsman; Douglas Melloy, Rotherham and South Yorkshire Advertiser; Ian Murray, Southern Evening Echo; David Pollington, The Sunday Post; Jonathan Grun, Press Association; Alan Rusbridger, The Guardian; Neil Wallis, News of the World; Harriet Wilson, Conde Nast magazines; John Witherow, Sunday Times; and Peter Wright, The Mail On Sunday. A magazine editor will be appointed to replace Lindsay Nicholson, Editorial Director of the National Magazine Company, who has joined the PCC as a Commissioner.

For further information contact Code Committee secretary Ian Beales:

01453 860577, Mobile: 0771 577 0400 email: ianbeales@mac.com