The Press Standards Board of Finance Ltd

Editors' Code of **Practice** Committee

Chairman **Paul Dacre**

Secretary Ian Beales PO Box 235, Stonehouse, **GL10 3UF**

Tel: 01453 860577 Mobile: 0771 577 0400 Email: ianbeales@mac.com

www.editorscode.org.uk

Code Committee members:

Paul Dacre, Daily Mail (Chairman); Sir Alan Moses, Chairman of IPSO; Damian Bates, Press and Journal, Aberdeen; Neil Benson, Trinity Mirror Regional Newspapers; Christine Elliott. lay member: Geordie Greig, Mail On Sunday; Jonathan Grun, Press Association; David Jessel, lay member; Ian Murray, Southern Evening Echo; Mike Sassi, Nottingham Evening Post; Kate Stone, lay member; Matt Tee, Chief Executive, IPSO: Hannah Walker, South London Press; Harriet Wilson, Conde-Nast Publications; and John Witherow, The Times.

PRESS INFORMATION

EMBARGOED: For release 13.15 Friday, 20 February 2015

Editors' Code Committee lay members named

Three new lay members today join the Editors' Code of Practice Committee, which writes the Code used by the new Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO) as the benchmark for regulating most of Britain's national and local newspapers and magazines.

The three, chosen by an independent selection panel, are:

- Christine Elliott, Chief Executive of the Institute for Turnaround and previous Director of Bletchley Park;
- David Jessel, a former TV investigative journalist, who is also a member of IPSO's complaints committee;
- Dr Kate Stone, founder of Novalia, a Cambridge company specialising in digital interactive touch technology.

Paul Dacre, Chairman of the Editors' Code Committee, said: 'We welcome the appointment of these distinguished lay members, which fulfils the commitment we made in the aftermath of the Leveson Inquiry to ensure the public were represented on the Editors' Code Committee, the body responsible for writing the Editors' Code of Practice. They will play a vital role in guaranteeing the Editors' Code remains the standard against which all British journalism is judged.'

Sir Alan Moses, Chairman of IPSO, which set up the independent panel to oversee the selection process, said: "I am delighted that we were able to attract such a high calibre field. The Editors' Code is the standard that IPSO uses to regulate the press. The addition of lay members is a welcome development and I am sure the Committee will benefit from the perspectives the new appointees bring."

The Code Committee had previously appointed Sir Alan and IPSO Chief Executive Mr Matt Tee as ex officio members. They join ten editors representing national and regional newspapers and magazines.

The full Code Committee membership list is shown on the left.